/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Our Team

Find a professional

By expertise :

By keywords :


Name

PublicationsPublications

RSSRSS Feed

Chantal Noël

Associate

Insurance Law

Telephone : (514) 393-4004

Fax : (514) 878-1865

Email : cnoel@rsslex.com

VCard

Before specializing in legal research, Mrs. Noël practiced law in various legal fields. She frequently made representations before administrative tribunals and the various chambers of the Superior Court (civil, family and commercial). This experience contributes today to her ability to identify the pertinent legal arguments as well as the needs of RSS’s litigators.

Mrs. Noël has been practicing Insurance Law for some 23 years. Her work led her to analyze insurance policies for coverage and duty to defend. She also specializes in civil liability in cases where the firm has been appointed to represent insureds in defense.

Mrs. Noël also developed extensive experience in legal research. In addition to mastering Quebec, Canadian and international legal databases, she manages databases that she developed within the firm. Mrs. Noël ensures studying all aspects of litigation in order to properly advise clients on their chances of success, as well as to properly inform the Courts that have to decide on the questions in issue.

Representative Matters

Mrs. Noël currently works on the following types of files:

  • Analysis of insurance coverage, including property insurance, liability insurance, errors and omissions policies, builders risk insurance policy, commercial general liability insurance policies — CGL: pre-contractual representations, coverage, exclusion clauses, general conditions of insurance policies, duty to defend
  • Arson: quality and burden of proof of the insurers
  • Product liability: latent defects, legal and contractual guarantees, product safety, Consumer Protection Act
  • Municipal liability : sewer backup, firefighters’ negligence
  • Liability of various parties in the construction industry: contractors, subcontractors and professionals
  • Professional liability: engineers, lawyers and others
  • Assessment of damages for bodily injuries and loss resulting from death: loss of income, non-pecuniary damages (loss of enjoyment of life and functional limitation) and solatium doloris

Publications and Conferences

In 2017, Mrs. Noël conducted the review that led to the new edition of Residential Insurance Policies, Annotated, published by Éditions Yvon Blais.

Since 1996, she has been in charge of the biannual updates of that manual, as well as Commercial Insurance Policies, Annotated, also at Éditions Yvon Blais. Both manuals were originally authored by RSS lawyers.

She also wrote numerous newsletters and is a contributing editor of several texts for training sessions and lectures presented by colleagues.

Languages

French, English

Education

Bachelor of Laws, University of Sherbrooke

Call to Bar

Quebec, 1991

/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Notre Équipe

Chercher un professionnel

Par expertise :

Par mots clés :


Nom

PublicationsNos publications

RSSFIL RSS

Chantal Noël

Téléphone : (514) 393-4004

Télécopieur : (514) 878-1865

Courriel : cnoel@rsslex.com

VCard

Avant de se spécialiser en recherche juridique, Me Noël a pratiqué le droit dans différents domaines. Cette pratique l’a amenée à faire de nombreuses représentations devant les tribunaux administratifs et devant les différentes chambres de la Cour supérieure (civile, familiale et commerciale). Cette expérience contribue encore aujourd’hui à sa grande habileté à cerner les arguments de droit ainsi que les besoins des avocats plaidants chez RSS.

Me Noël pratique le droit des assurances depuis quelque 23 ans. Son travail l’amène à analyser les polices d’assurance en matière de couverture et d’obligation de défendre. Elle se spécialise également en responsabilité civile, dans les dossiers où le cabinet a été mandaté pour représenter des assurés en défense.

Me Noël a également développé une grande expérience de la recherche juridique. En plus de maîtriser les différentes banques de données québécoises, canadiennes et internationales, elle gère les banques de données qu’elle a développées au sein du cabinet. De plus, Me Noël s’assure d’étudier tous les aspects d’un litige, et ce, de façon à bien conseiller ses clients sur leur chance de succès ainsi qu’à bien éclairer les tribunaux qui auront à décider des questions soumises.

Dossiers représentatifs

Me Noël travaille couramment dans les types de dossiers suivants :

  • Analyse des couvertures d’assurance, notamment des polices d’assurance biens et d’assurance responsabilité, des polices erreurs et omissions, d’assurance chantier et d’assurance commerciale – CGL : déclarations précontractuelles, couverture du risque, clauses d’exclusion, conditions d’application, obligation de défendre
  • Incendie volontaire : qualité et fardeau de la preuve des assureurs
  • Responsabilité des fabricants : vices cachés, garanties légales et conventionnelles, garantie de sécurité, Loi sur la protection du consommateur
  • Responsabilité municipale : refoulement d’égouts, faute des pompiers à l’occasion d’incendies
  • Responsabilité de divers intervenants dans le domaine de la construction : faute de l’entrepreneur, des sous-traitants et des professionnels de la construction
  • Responsabilité professionnelle : ingénieurs, notaires, avocats et autres
  • Évaluation des dommages corporels en cas de blessures et des pertes résultant du décès : pertes de revenus, pertes non pécuniaires (perte de jouissance de la vie et limitation fonctionnelle) et solatium doloris

Publications et conférences

En 2017, Me Noël a procédé à la refonte et la réédition de l’ouvrage Polices d’assurance résidentielle annotées, publié aux Éditions Yvon Blais.

Depuis 1996, elle en assure la mise à jour biannuelle, ainsi que de l’ouvrage Polices d’assurance commerciale annotées, également publié aux Éditions Yvon Blais. Ces deux ouvrages furent initialement élaborés par d’autres avocats de RSS.

Elle signe également plusieurs infolettres et collabore à la rédaction de plusieurs textes de formations et conférences présentées par ses collègues.

Langues

Français, anglais

Formation

Baccalauréat en droit, Université de Sherbrooke

Admission au Barreau

Québec, 1991