Newsletters

170

SNC-Lavalin inc. c. Deguise: Application of the “Prior Insurance and Non-Cumulation of Liability” Clause

On April 6, the Court of Appeal of Québec rendered its decision in SNC-Lavalin inc. (Terratech inc. et SNC-Lavalin Environnement inc.) c. Deguise, 2020 QCCA 495.

Considering the importance of this decision for both the construction and insurance industries, RSS offers a series of newsletters discussing the main issues at stake. This is one segment of the complete series found here.

In the matter of SNC-Lavalin Inc. (Terratech Inc. et SNC-Lavalin Environnement Inc.) c. Deguise, the excess insurers Northbridge and AIG argued that the non-cumulation of liability clause in the insurance policy was applicable to the facts at issue. The Court of Appeal dismissed the argument and thus accepted the trial judge’s analysis. It should be noted that only the provisions of AIG’s policy were analysed since Northbridge’s policy was a follow form type policy and must therefore follow the provisions of AIG’s policy.

The clause in question read as follows:

1. PRIOR INSURANCE AND NON-CUMULATION OF LIABILITY

It is agreed, that if any loss is also covered in whole or in part under any other excess policy issued to the Insured prior to the inception date hereof, the Company’s limit of liability as stated in Item I of the Declarations shall be reduced by any amounts due [to] the Insured on account of any such loss under such prior insurance. [par 830]

The Court of Appeal pointed out that the purpose of this clause is to limit the amount payable for damages caused by a single event, even if the damages occur over several insurable periods, provided that the damages are attributable to the same loss arising from the same event. Thus, the amount payable and available under subsequent policies is reduced by the amount paid under previous policies.

To support the application of the non-cumulation clause in this case, the insurers argued that there was only one “event” causing a single loss. However, the term “event” included “continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, which results in Personal Injury or Property Damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the Insured.” [par 836]

According to them, all material damage caused by the concrete is a single occurrence.

In its analysis, the Superior Court considered two aspects: the history of the clause and the facts in dispute.

Following the American interpretation, the Court was of the view that the non-cumulation of liability clauses was not designed to be applicable in a context where there are several claims, several alleged faults against the same people, and several claims by different people for continuous and progressive damages to different property. Moreover, according to American doctrine, when a court applies a method of apportioning damages in proportion to the period of insurance coverage of each insurer, non-cumulation of liability clauses is invalid.

Thus, based on the facts, the Court determined that there was not a single loss and rejected the argument that there was only one occurrence. Indeed, several hundred buildings belonging to a multitude of owners sat on defective concrete foundations. This concrete was purchased from two separate concrete mixers and was poured at various dates. In addition, the pyrrhotite concentration varied from one pour to another, depending on the rock vein mined at the B&B quarry at the time.

In short, according to the Superior Court, the non-cumulation of liability clauses was not intended to apply in such a case.

The Court of Appeal ruled that there was no manifest and determining error and therefore dismissed the insurers’ appeal on this point of law.

170

Articles in the same category

Ruin Finds a Reason

In Société d’assurance Beneva Inc. c. Ville de Sherbrooke, 2026 QCCA 1301, the Court of Appeal delivers a decision as concise as it is compelling on liability arising from the ruin of an immovable, in a case involving the rupture of a water main. Its impact could extend well beyond underground pipe failures. The Facts […]

There Is No Point in Submitting a Bid Without Conducting Your Research First

In 9329-0146 Québec Inc. (M. Potvin Excavation) v. City of Saint-Constant, 2026 QCCA 1199, the Quebec Court of Appeal reaffirmed the principles governing a contracting authority’s duty to provide information and a bidder’s corresponding duty to seek clarification where necessary. The Facts  In May 2020, the City of Saint-Constant issued a public call for bids […]

2026 World Cup: FIFA Can Commercialise the Tournament, But Not Trust

Introduction With 48 teams, 104 matches, three host countries and 39 days of competition, the 2026 World Cup was already destined to make history because of its sheer scale. On the field, with a transformed VAR system (Video Assistant Referee) and FIFA’s new regulations, every player action was subjected to microscopic scrutiny. Off the field, […]

An Insurer Is Not Required to Uncover What the Insured Was Required to Disclose

In Kayembe-Kabeya v. Industrielle Alliance, assurance et services financiers inc., 2026 QCCS 1714, the Superior Court sets the record straight on the principle of contractual “utmost good faith”. The Facts In September 2019, Ms. Ricady Mede (hereinafter “Mede”) purchased a life insurance policy from Industrielle Alliance (hereinafter the “Insurer”). A few months later, she died of […]

When it’s too late for latent defects…

The Superior Court recently rendered a judgment in Reinert v. Construction Maurice Bilodeau Inc., 2026 QCCS 2276, dealing with timeliness to give notice in cases of latent defects. The Facts In 2013, Ms. Sylvie Reinert and Mr. Denis Leclerc retained Construction Maurice Bilodeau Inc. (“CMB”) for the construction of a residential building on a vacant lot in Lévis. […]

Insurance Math: One Claim, Two Fires, Three Points of Origin, Zero Recovery: When Circumstantial Evidence Speaks Louder Than a Confession

In Chatel v. Desjardins Insurance, 2026 QCCS 712, the Quebec Superior Court reaffirmed a principle of insurance law: direct evidence is not required to establish an intentional fault. Mr. Chatel claimed $532,000 under his homeowner’s insurance policy following two fires that occurred four days apart. The first caused partial damage to his residence, while the second […]