Construction

The figures in recent years show that the construction industry remains one of the key activities in Quebec: its capital expenditures represent more than 10% of the GDP, it generates a monthly average of over 250,000 jobs, or 1 out of 20 positions, and includes thousands of active employers.

Our legal professionals serve the various stakeholders in the construction industry in the context of numerous mandates including debt collection, contractual claims, registration or cancellation of legal hypothecs, and drafting and reviewing service agreements. We advise contractors, architects, engineers, suppliers, businesses, institutions and individuals. We offer our clients the complementary expertise of our team both in pre-project transactions and contentious situations.

We Understand the Construction Industry

We know that the construction sector has its own unique characteristics, such as economic fluctuations linked to the current economic context, high workforce mobility, the frequently temporary employment of workers, seasonal instability, limited project duration and the large number of small and medium-sized businesses (SMEs) that make up this industry. Our clients appreciate our in-depth understanding of this sector, which allows us to answer the most diverse questions, offer appropriate legal services and anticipate many issues.

Our Construction Industry Services at a Glance

  • Legal responsibility of designers: architects and engineers
  • Product liability of suppliers of building materials
  • Real estate issues: land ownership
  • Zoning and planning by-laws
  • Financing and security
  • Latent defects and inspections

Professional resources15

Stéphanie Beauchamp

Lawyer, Partner

Annie Claude Beauchemin

Lawyer, Partner

Juliana Boutot

Lawyer, Associate

Sarah Bouzo

Lawyer, Associate

Pierre Brossoit

Lawyer, Partner, Accredited Mediator and Arbitrator

Marc-Olivier Brouillette

Lawyer, Partner

Emmanuelle Campeau

Lawyer, Partner

Rachel Clément, MBA

Lawyer, Partner and Co-chair of the Insurance Law Group

Mariella De Stefano

Lawyer, Partner and Co-chair of the Insurance Law Group

Marika Douville

Lawyer, Partner

Laurence Gauthier

Lawyer, Partner

Geneviève Goulet

Lawyer, Partner and Co-chair of the Business Law Group

Patrick Henry

Lawyer, Partner

Construction

Les chiffres des dernières années démontrent que l’industrie de la construction demeure un des secteurs d’activité les plus importants au Québec : la valeur de ses dépenses en immobilisations représente plus de 10 % du PIB, elle génère plus de 250 000 emplois en moyenne par mois, soit 1 emploi sur 20, et elle regroupe des milliers d’employeurs actifs.

Nos professionnels accompagnent les différents intervenants de la construction dans le cadre de divers mandats dont le recouvrement de créances, les réclamations contractuelles, l’inscription ou la radiation d’hypothèques légales et la rédaction et la révision de contrats de service. Nous conseillons notamment des entrepreneurs, des architectes, des ingénieurs, des fournisseurs, des entreprises, des institutions et des particuliers. Nous mettons au service de nos clients l’expertise complémentaire de notre équipe tant pour des transactions préalables à la réalisation de projets que lors de situations litigieuses.

Nous comprenons le secteur de la construction

Nous savons que le secteur de la construction se démarque par des caractéristiques qui lui sont propres telles que les fluctuations économiques liées à la conjoncture, la grande mobilité de la main-d’œuvre, le lien d’emploi souvent temporaire des travailleurs, l’instabilité saisonnière, la durée limitée des projets et le nombre élevé de PME qui forment cette industrie. Notre clientèle apprécie notre profonde compréhension de ce secteur d’activités, pour lequel nous sommes en mesure de répondre aux questions les plus diverses, d’offrir les services juridiques appropriés et d’anticiper un bon nombre d’enjeux.

Nos services auprès de l’industrie de la construction en bref

  • La responsabilité des concepteurs : architectes et ingénieurs
  • La responsabilité des fabricants de matériaux
  • Les enjeux immobiliers : la propriété foncière
  • Le zonage et les règlements d’urbanisme
  • Le financement et les sûretés
  • Les vices cachés et les inspections

Ressources professionnelles19

Stéphanie Beauchamp

Avocate, associée

Annie Claude Beauchemin

Avocate, associée

Sarah Bouzo

Avocate

Pierre Brossoit

Avocat, associé / Arbitre accrédité

Marc-Olivier Brouillette

Avocat, associé

Emmanuelle Campeau

Avocate, associée

Rachel Clément, MBA

Avocate, associée et co-gestionnaire du groupe de Droit des assurances

Mariella De Stefano

Avocate, associée et co-gestionnaire du groupe de Droit des assurances

Marika Douville

Avocate, associée

Laurence Gauthier

Avocate, associée

Geneviève Goulet

Avocate, associée

Patrick Henry

Avocat, associé

Jean-François Lamoureux

Avocat, associé

Ariane Légère-Bordeleau

Avocate, associée

Marcel-Olivier Nadeau

Avocat, associé