Newsletters

561

The keys to the “care, custody and control” exclusion

“Park’n Fly” services have become ubiquitous. A hotel, generally located close to an airport, provides one night’s accommodation, breakfast, car parking during the stay abroad and shuttle services to and from the airport, all for a flat fee. The service is especially popular in the wintertime, as the lure of warmer climates suddenly becomes irresistible to many.

In 2005 and 2006, Econolodge, close to the Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau airport, was offering such a package. For $99, the customer got all four services. Of course, for winter travel, customers who purchased this package had to deposit their car keys with the hotel reception, and provide their car’s license plate number. This was meant to allow hotel staff to move the car if necessary: to allow for snow removal operations, for instance.

In late January 2005, a vacationer who had purchased this package was quite upset when he realized that the vehicle he had left at the hotel had disappeared. He filed a claim with AXA, his insurer, and received compensation for the theft; AXA, subrogated in his rights, filed a claim against the hotel which, in turn, called its insurer, Lombard, in warranty. By a stroke of bad luck, in mid-March 2006, another suntanned customer had a similar surprise, with the same hotel. The same legal scenario was repeated albeit with Promutuel as the customer’s insurer, and a new hotel owner: but Lombard was once again the liability insurer.

In both cases, Lombard denied coverage, under the “care, custody and control” exclusion.

The trial judge  ruled that the hotel had been negligent by failing its obligation of prudence and diligence regarding the cars that were left by the customers. She refused, however, to apply the exclusion: doing so, she committed a “fatal error” (“erreur déterminante”) as the Court of Appeal stated in a decision released on November 23, allowing Lombard’s appeal, thus dismissing the hotel’s claim against its insurer and leaving it liable.

The Court of Appeal noted that, in both cases, the vehicles had been left with the hotel during winter months and that, consequently, the hotel requested the keys.

The exclusion clause read as follows:

 

Excluded from this insurance are:

[…]

H) Loss of enjoyment, deterioration or destruction:

[…]

d) of movable property under your care or on which you have a right of control or management. [Our translation]

First, the Court of Appeal ruled that the exclusion is not related to the insured’s behaviour, but to the property under its care or on which it has a right of control or management.

Referring to a 1954 decision of the Supreme Court of Canada, the Court stated that the exclusion could only apply if the insured exercised “‘care’ [which] would include a measure of protection and preservation, ‘custody’ of safekeeping and protection and ’control’ of direction or domination.”

The Court reminded that three rules can be derived from the case law: “1) The insurer must demonstrate that the insured really had a right of direction and control on the property; 2) the clause must not be interpreted in such a manner that the coverage would be annihilated; and 3) the application of the restriction is mostly a question of fact.” [Our translation]

The Court noted that, by handing the car keys to the hotel staff, the owner gave them the actual power to preserve, conserve, manage and physically control their cars while they were abroad. Since the trial judge had ruled that Econolodge owed a duty of prudence and diligence, logically, to carry it out, it had to have the care of the vehicles.

This decision will help clarify the application of an exclusion frequently invoked and discussed.

Compagnie canadienne d’assurances générales Lombard c. Promutuel Portneuf-Champlain, société mutuelle d’assurances générales, 2016 QCCA 1903

561

Authors

Patrick Henry

Lawyer, Partner

Articles in the same category

Ruin Finds a Reason

In Société d’assurance Beneva Inc. c. Ville de Sherbrooke, 2026 QCCA 1301, the Court of Appeal delivers a decision as concise as it is compelling on liability arising from the ruin of an immovable, in a case involving the rupture of a water main. Its impact could extend well beyond underground pipe failures. The Facts […]

There Is No Point in Submitting a Bid Without Conducting Your Research First

In 9329-0146 Québec Inc. (M. Potvin Excavation) v. City of Saint-Constant, 2026 QCCA 1199, the Quebec Court of Appeal reaffirmed the principles governing a contracting authority’s duty to provide information and a bidder’s corresponding duty to seek clarification where necessary. The Facts  In May 2020, the City of Saint-Constant issued a public call for bids […]

2026 World Cup: FIFA Can Commercialise the Tournament, But Not Trust

Introduction With 48 teams, 104 matches, three host countries and 39 days of competition, the 2026 World Cup was already destined to make history because of its sheer scale. On the field, with a transformed VAR system (Video Assistant Referee) and FIFA’s new regulations, every player action was subjected to microscopic scrutiny. Off the field, […]

An Insurer Is Not Required to Uncover What the Insured Was Required to Disclose

In Kayembe-Kabeya v. Industrielle Alliance, assurance et services financiers inc., 2026 QCCS 1714, the Superior Court sets the record straight on the principle of contractual “utmost good faith”. The Facts In September 2019, Ms. Ricady Mede (hereinafter “Mede”) purchased a life insurance policy from Industrielle Alliance (hereinafter the “Insurer”). A few months later, she died of […]

When it’s too late for latent defects…

The Superior Court recently rendered a judgment in Reinert v. Construction Maurice Bilodeau Inc., 2026 QCCS 2276, dealing with timeliness to give notice in cases of latent defects. The Facts In 2013, Ms. Sylvie Reinert and Mr. Denis Leclerc retained Construction Maurice Bilodeau Inc. (“CMB”) for the construction of a residential building on a vacant lot in Lévis. […]

Insurance Math: One Claim, Two Fires, Three Points of Origin, Zero Recovery: When Circumstantial Evidence Speaks Louder Than a Confession

In Chatel v. Desjardins Insurance, 2026 QCCS 712, the Quebec Superior Court reaffirmed a principle of insurance law: direct evidence is not required to establish an intentional fault. Mr. Chatel claimed $532,000 under his homeowner’s insurance policy following two fires that occurred four days apart. The first caused partial damage to his residence, while the second […]