Newsletters

223

Employee’s personal activities during a disability leave: beware of incompatibilities and lack of openness!

Can one be a contestant on La voix, Quebec’s version of a popular vocal talent competition TV show featuring amateurs coached by established artists, while being on disability leave and receiving salary insurance indemnities? Such was the question recently raised before a labour arbitrator.

A leave with incompatible activities

A disability leave with compensation is an exceptional benefit open to an employee only if certain strict conditions are met. An employee of CHSLD Bourget, in the eastern part of Montréal, recently learned this lesson the hard way.

The employee, a dietary assistant, goes on leave August 18, 2012, to receive a fertility treatment. Shortly after, on September 6, she is given an invalidity leave “having received a diagnosis of adjustment disorder with depression, personal stress factors, loss of interest and concentration” [par 223; our translation].

On February 3, 2013, the employer’s manager of disability matters happens to see the employee taking part in the TV show La voix.

The very next day, the employer’s representatives meet with the employee to inquire about her disability. They learn that on September 15, 2012, soon after the beginning of her disability leave, she had auditioned to be selected for the show. In October, she had gone through a one-hour telephone interview. At the end of November, she had attended two consecutive days of rehearsals and recorded audition. In January, 2013, she had taken part in two more days of rehearsals, preparation, coaching and recorded auditions.

She never mentioned her participation in La voix to the employer’s representatives nor to the medical experts retained to examine her. The employer only learned about it when it was aired on February 3. The employer put an end to her disability leave on February 18; however, at that moment, she was put on maternity leave with a preventive withdrawal.

Considering that her alleged disability was incompatible with her participation in the television programme, the employer asks for the refund disability benefits she received.

A decision based on a complex analysis

The union filed a grievance in response to the employer’s claim for an amount of $12,155.05: this grievance was dismissed, for the most part. The arbitrator held the employee liable for $10,038, the amount of salary insurance benefits that she received between September 15, 2012 and January 26, 2013, being the period of her participation in La voix.

Certain aspects of this case, in which the author represented the employer, should be noted:

  • The key role of expert witnesses: the major part of this substantial, 122-page decision, consists of a painstaking analysis of the testimonies of four physicians who examined the employee. They had mixed opinions. For instance, her own physician testified that taking part in the TV show could be a positive factor towards her recovery; since singing was a passion of hers. However, his notes made no mention of her participation, nor did they reflect his conclusion on its positive impact. Accordingly, the arbitrator ruled that this part of his evidence had virtually no credibility.
  • The impact of bad faith: the evidence revealed that the employee had concealed her participation in La voix to her employer and its medical experts, when this was a key factor in the evaluation of her condition and the decision to maintain her disability leave. Had she been more straightforward with the doctors and her employer, the harsh outcome of this whole case could perhaps have been avoided.
  • The arbitrator’s fees and expenditures: considering the facts, the arbitrator condemned the union to pay 95% of his fees.
  • The employer’s grievance claiming that the union’s grievances be declared abusive: the arbitrator dismissed this claim, ruling that the union had discharged its duty of representation.

What are the takeaways of this case?

Invalidity leaves and salary insurance indemnities are ruled by clear and precise rules: both parties must abide by them, and act in good faith. When in doubt, one should seek the advice of a competent legal advisor to define the proper conduct and avoid escalating costs.

CHSLD Bourget c Syndicat national des employés de l’hôpital Bourget (CSN – Catégorie bureau), 2016 CanLII 36511 (QC SAT), https://canlii.ca/t/gs4r8

A commentary by Jacques A. Laurin, from our Labour and Employment Law Group.

223

Articles in the same category

Ruin Finds a Reason

In Société d’assurance Beneva Inc. c. Ville de Sherbrooke, 2026 QCCA 1301, the Court of Appeal delivers a decision as concise as it is compelling on liability arising from the ruin of an immovable, in a case involving the rupture of a water main. Its impact could extend well beyond underground pipe failures. The Facts […]

There Is No Point in Submitting a Bid Without Conducting Your Research First

In 9329-0146 Québec Inc. (M. Potvin Excavation) v. City of Saint-Constant, 2026 QCCA 1199, the Quebec Court of Appeal reaffirmed the principles governing a contracting authority’s duty to provide information and a bidder’s corresponding duty to seek clarification where necessary. The Facts  In May 2020, the City of Saint-Constant issued a public call for bids […]

2026 World Cup: FIFA Can Commercialise the Tournament, But Not Trust

Introduction With 48 teams, 104 matches, three host countries and 39 days of competition, the 2026 World Cup was already destined to make history because of its sheer scale. On the field, with a transformed VAR system (Video Assistant Referee) and FIFA’s new regulations, every player action was subjected to microscopic scrutiny. Off the field, […]

An Insurer Is Not Required to Uncover What the Insured Was Required to Disclose

In Kayembe-Kabeya v. Industrielle Alliance, assurance et services financiers inc., 2026 QCCS 1714, the Superior Court sets the record straight on the principle of contractual “utmost good faith”. The Facts In September 2019, Ms. Ricady Mede (hereinafter “Mede”) purchased a life insurance policy from Industrielle Alliance (hereinafter the “Insurer”). A few months later, she died of […]

When it’s too late for latent defects…

The Superior Court recently rendered a judgment in Reinert v. Construction Maurice Bilodeau Inc., 2026 QCCS 2276, dealing with timeliness to give notice in cases of latent defects. The Facts In 2013, Ms. Sylvie Reinert and Mr. Denis Leclerc retained Construction Maurice Bilodeau Inc. (“CMB”) for the construction of a residential building on a vacant lot in Lévis. […]

Insurance Math: One Claim, Two Fires, Three Points of Origin, Zero Recovery: When Circumstantial Evidence Speaks Louder Than a Confession

In Chatel v. Desjardins Insurance, 2026 QCCS 712, the Quebec Superior Court reaffirmed a principle of insurance law: direct evidence is not required to establish an intentional fault. Mr. Chatel claimed $532,000 under his homeowner’s insurance policy following two fires that occurred four days apart. The first caused partial damage to his residence, while the second […]