/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Our Team

Find a professional

By expertise :

By keywords :


Name

PublicationsPublications

RSSRSS Feed

Jean E. Clerk, c.r.

Telephone : (514) 393-4010

Fax : (514) 878-1865

Email : jclerk@rsslex.com

VCard

Acknowledged as a Canadian authority on railway matters, Jean E. Clerk has significant experience in the field of mergers and acquisitions. He played a key role in negotiating and documenting numerous commercial transactions. He frequently represents sellers or purchasers of businesses of all types. He also coordinates the various multidisciplinary services that may be required to complete these transactions. He frequently represents shippers in their tariff and level of service negotiations and disputes with railroad operators.

Jean has been with the railroad industry since 1969, when he joined the legal department of the Canadian National. From 1985 to 1995, he led its legal affairs department for the Saint-Laurent area (Quebec and New England). He later went into private practice, working mostly on matters of commercial law. Throughout his career, he has provided strategic and legal services to numerous businesses in the railroad transportation industry. He has represented Class 1 railroad companies as well as regional and secondary railroads, rail passenger carriers, public and harbour administrations and numerous service providers involved with railroads. He has developed and collaborated with a wide network of contacts in all areas of expertise, which now allows him to offer the complete scope of services that could be needed by an organisation involved with railway transportation, especially shippers and other users of rail services.

As a litigator, he has appeared before all levels of Quebec courts, including the Court of Appeal, as well as before the Federal Court and Federal Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada. He has also appeared before several administrative tribunals, such as the Canadian Transportation Agency.

During his career, he has been a director of companies such as First National AlarmCap Income Fund, The Canada and Gulf Terminal Railway Company, the Compagnie de gestion de Matane (Cogéma), the Corporation de chauffage urbain de Montréal (CCUM) and Global Railway Industries Ltd. He was also a member of the CN’s Managing Committee for the Saint-Laurent area during his tenure as head of legal affairs, until 1995.

Honours

Appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1988

Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory: “Consistently Recommended” for Transportation (Road & Rail)

Best Lawyers in Canada: rated since 2006 for Railroad Law

Chambers Canada: Band 2 Practitioner, Nationwide, Transportation: Rail & Road

Associations

Canadian Transport Lawyers Association: past president

Association des secrétaires et chefs de contentieux du Québec: past president

Publications and Conferences

“Le transport ferroviaire et les minières du Québec”, Les affaires — Objectif Nord conference, October 2013

“Le transport ferroviaire dans la région du Plan Nord”, Insight — Mining forum, May 2012

“Le Plan Nord, les mines de fer et les chemins de fer”, Les Affaires conference, 2012

Community Involvement

Mr. Clerk was a director of organizations such as the Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal, Oxfam Québec (Chairman of the Board), the Fondation du Barreau du Québec, The Lighthouse, Children and Families and the Cavendish Health and Social Services Centre.

Languages

English, French

Education

Bachelor of Laws (LL.L.), University of Ottawa

Bachelor of Arts, Major in History, University of Montréal

Call to Bar

Quebec, 1969

/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Notre Équipe

Chercher un professionnel

Par expertise :

Par mots clés :


Nom

PublicationsNos publications

RSSFIL RSS

Jean E. Clerk, c.r.

Téléphone : (514) 393-4010

Télécopieur : (514) 878-1865

Courriel : jclerk@rsslex.com

VCard

Reconnu comme une autorité canadienne en matière ferroviaire, Jean E. Clerk jouit d’une solide expérience des fusions et acquisitions. Il a joué un rôle clé dans un grand nombre d’opérations commerciales, tant à titre de négociateur que d’avocat chargé de la rédaction des documents contractuels. Il représente fréquemment des vendeurs ou des acheteurs de divers types d’entreprise. Il assure également la coordination des services multidisciplinaires que peuvent nécessiter ces transactions. Enfin, il représente régulièrement des expéditeurs dans leurs négociations ou leurs litiges relatifs aux tarifs ou aux niveaux de service offerts par les sociétés ferroviaires.

Jean évolue dans l’industrie ferroviaire depuis 1969, alors qu’il est devenu membre du contentieux du Canadien National. De 1985 à 1995, il y a dirigé le service des affaires juridiques de la région du Saint-Laurent (Québec et Nouvelle-Angleterre). Par la suite, il a œuvré en pratique privée principalement dans des dossiers de nature commerciale. Au cours de sa carrière, il a été appelé à fournir des services, tant stratégiques que juridiques, à une multitude d’entreprises liées au domaine ferroviaire. Il a représenté des sociétés de chemins de fer de catégorie 1 ainsi que des chemins de fer régionaux et secondaires, des sociétés ferroviaires assurant le transport de voyageurs, des administrations publiques et portuaires et de nombreux fournisseurs de services reliés aux chemins de fer. Sa pratique l’a amené à développer et à collaborer avec un vaste réseau exceptionnel de personnes-ressources de tous les domaines d’expertise permettant d’offrir la gamme complète des services qui pourraient être requis par une organisation liée au monde ferroviaire, notamment les expéditeurs et autres usagers de services ferroviaires.

Il a plaidé devant les tribunaux québécois de tous les niveaux, y compris la Cour d’appel du Québec, ainsi que devant les Cours fédérales et la Cour suprême du Canada et divers tribunaux administratifs, notamment l’Office des transports du Canada.

Tout au long de sa carrière, il a occupé des fonctions d’administrateur de sociétés telles que Première société en commandite nationale AlarmCap, le Chemin de fer de Matane et du Golfe, la Compagnie de gestion de Matane (Cogéma), la Corporation de chauffage urbain de Montréal (CCUM) et Global Railway Industries Ltd. De plus, il a été membre du comité de gestion du CN pour la Région du Saint-Laurent alors qu’il y dirigeait le contentieux, jusqu’en 1995.

Distinctions

Nommé Conseil de la Reine en 1988

Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory : classé parmi les avocats recommandés en droit des transports routier et ferroviaire

Best Lawyers in Canada : classé depuis 2006 pour le droit ferroviaire

Chambers Canada : Praticien « Band 2 », Canada, Transport ferroviaire et terrestre

Associations

Association canadienne des avocats en transport (ancien président)

Association des secrétaires et chefs de contentieux du Québec (ancien président)

Publications et conférences

« Le transport ferroviaire et les minières du Québec », conférence Les affaires — Objectif Nord, octobre 2013

« Le transport ferroviaire dans la région du Plan Nord », Insight — Forum minier, mai 2012

« Le Plan Nord, les mines de fer et les chemins de fer », conférence Les Affaires, 2012

Engagement sociocommunautaire

Jean a siégé au conseil d’administration d’organismes tels que l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal, Oxfam Québec (à titre de président du conseil), la Fondation du Barreau du Québec, Le Phare, Enfants et Familles et le Centre de santé et de services sociaux Cavendish.

Langues

Français, anglais

Formation

Licence en droit, Université d’Ottawa

Baccalauréat ès arts, majeur en histoire, Université de Montréal

Admission au Barreau

Québec, 1969