/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Our Team

Find a professional

By expertise :

By keywords :


Name

PublicationsPublications

RSSRSS Feed

Brigitte Garceau

Telephone : (514) 393-4022

Fax : (514) 878-1865

Email : bgarceau@rsslex.com

VCard

Brigitte Garceau is a senior partner in the Family Law Department and pleads regularly before the courts and tribunals of Quebec at all trial and appellate levels. She has been accredited as a family law mediator by the Quebec Bar since 1995.

Representative Mandates

Brigitte’s practice covers all aspects of divorce, child and spousal support, child custody, division of property and family mediation with a particular emphasis on complex high-net-worth, cross-jurisdiction and international law cases. She also has a specialized expertise in child custody cases involving The Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction.

Honours

Fellow of the International Academy of Family Lawyers

Best Lawyers: rated as a leading family law practitioner

Recipient of a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for her community involvement

Awarded a Parliamentary Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to her Community and to Canadian Democracy

Recently invited to join the Steering Committee of the Cambridge Forum for Senior Family Lawyers, composed of 44 of the most experienced family law practitioners in the nation

Martindale-Hubbell: rated as Distinguished Lawyer for her high ethical standing

Associations

Association des avocats et avocates en droit familial du Québec

Association de médiation familiale du Québec

Bar of Montréal: Newly-appointed member, Liaison Committee with the Superior Court in family law matters 2019–2020

Publications and Conferences

McGill University’s Law School: Past lecturer in family law

Participated in numerous roundtables, media broadcasts and interviews on different aspects of family law

Brigitte’s expertise is regularly sought after by her professional and academic colleagues across the country and is a frequent guest speaker at conferences. She has addressed judges’ conferences of the Canadian Judicial Council as well as the Financial and Estate Planning Council of Quebec on “Misconceptions in Family Law”; the Academy of Financial Divorce Specialists and the Canadian Association of Family Enterprise on “Family Law and the Family Business.”

Community Involvement

One of her greatest strengths is her ability to bring people together. She does it with reason, character and optimism. She is a natural leader and has a singular ability to draw people together in common causes for common solutions.

Brigitte is a dedicated and accomplished community and political activist. She is currently legal counsel and a Board Member of the West Island Women’s Shelter and helped create its well-known “Pumps & Pearls” annual Gala. As well, she serves on the Board of the Centre Bienvenue and Nazareth Community. She served as Chair of West Island Community Shares Youth Committee from 2012–2016. She served on the organizing committee of the Heart and Stroke Foundation from 2013–2015. In 2008 she co-chaired the “Cassandra’s Lilacs Gentle the Condition” charity concert — inspired by Brigitte’s daughter Cassandra — at the Théâtre St-Denis that was the first event in Montreal with multiple artists performing voluntarily to benefit multiple charities. In 2007 she Co-Chaired the Montreal Children’s Hospital Annual Ball which raised a record amount at the time. Among her political engagements Brigitte was President of the Westmount–Ville-Marie Federal Liberal Riding Association and served as National Vice-President (francophone) of the Liberal Party of Canada from 2009–2012.

Languages

English, French

Education

Bachelor of Civil Law, University of Montréal, 1991

Bachelor of Common Law, University of Ottawa, 1990

Bachelor of Arts, Carleton University, 1986

Call to Bar

Quebec, 1992

/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Notre Équipe

Chercher un professionnel

Par expertise :

Par mots clés :


Nom

PublicationsNos publications

RSSFIL RSS

Brigitte Garceau

Téléphone : (514) 393-4022

Télécopieur : (514) 878-1865

Courriel : bgarceau@rsslex.com

VCard

Brigitte Garceau est associée senior au sein de notre groupe de droit de la famille; elle plaide couramment devant les cours et les tribunaux du Québec, tant en première instance qu’en appel. Elle est médiatrice accréditée par le Barreau du Québec en matière familiale depuis 1995.

Dossiers représentatifs

La pratique de Brigitte couvre toutes les facettes du divorce, des obligations alimentaires envers les enfants et les ex-conjoints, de la garde d’enfants, du partage de biens et de la médiation en matière familiale, tout particulièrement dans les cas complexes mettant en présence des individus fortunés ou présentant des aspects multi-juridictionnels ou internationaux. Elle a acquis à travers les années une expertise dans le domaine des dossiers de garde d’enfants régis par la Convention de La Haye sur les aspects civils de l’enlèvement international d’enfants.

Distinctions

Fellow de l’International Academy of Family Lawyers

Best Lawyers : classée parmi les experts en droit de la famille

Récipiendaire d’une médaille du jubilée de diamant de la Reine pour son engagement communautaire

Récipiendaire d’un certificat de mérite du Parlement pour souligner ses contributions à la communauté et à la démocratie canadienne

Récemment invitée à faire partie du comité d’orientation du Cambridge Forum for Senior Family Lawyers, une rencontre de 44 des praticiens de droit de la famille les plus expérimentés au pays

Martindale-Hubbell : classée avec distinction pour son éthique professionnelle

Associations

Association des avocats et avocates en droit familial du Québec

Association de médiation familiale du Québec

Barreau de Montréal: récemment nommée membre du Comité de liaison avec la Cour supérieure en matière familiale 2019–2020

Publications et conférences

Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill : ancienne chargée de cours en droit de la famille

Participante à plusieurs tables rondes et reportages et entrevues télévisés sur divers aspects du droit de la famille

Les collègues de Brigitte, tant du monde professionnel que du milieu éducatif, de partout au pays, font fréquemment appel à elle pour des conseils et des conférences. Elle a ainsi traité des sujets tels que : « Malentendus en droit de la famille » à l’occasion de conférences du Conseil canadien de la magistrature et du Financial and Estate Planning Council of Quebec, et abordé « Le droit de la famille et l’entreprise familiale » devant l’Academy of Financial Divorce Specialists et la Canadian Association of Family Enterprise.

Engagement sociocommunautaire

Un des principaux atouts de Brigitte est sa qualité de rassembleuse, qu’elle utilise avec raison, détermination et optimisme. Meneuse née, elle fait preuve d’une capacité exceptionnelle à rallier les gens afin de trouver des solutions communes au service de causes communes.

Brigitte est une militante communautaire et politique dévouée et chevronnée. Elle est conseillère juridique et administratrice du  Refuge pour les femmes pour l’Ouest de l’Île et a contribué à la création de son gala annuel « Pumps & Pearls ». Elle est également administratrice du Centre Bienvenue et de la Communauté Nazareth. Elle a été présidente du comité jeunesse de Partage-action de l’Ouest-de-l’Île de 2012 à 2016. De 2013 à 2015, elle a été membre du comité organisateur de la Fondation des Maladies du Cœur et de la AVC. En 2008, elle était coprésidente du spectacle bénéfice « Cassandra’s Lilacs Gentle the Condition » — inspiré par sa fille Cassandra — qui s’est déroulé au théâtre Saint-Denis; ce fut le premier événement à Montréal lors duquel de multiples artistes se sont produits bénévolement au profit de multiples organismes de bienfaisance. En 2007, elle avait coprésidé le bal annuel de l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, fracassant le record de recettes de l’époque. Parmi ses engagements politiques, notons qu’elle fut présidente de l’Association libérale fédérale de Westmount–Sainte-Marie, et vice-présidente nationale francophone du Parti libéral du Canada de 2009 à 2012.

Langues

Français, anglais

Formation

Baccalauréat en droit civil, Université de Montréal, 1991

Baccalauréat en common law, Université d’Ottawa, 1990

Baccalauréat ès arts, Université de Carleton, 1986

Admission au Barreau

Québec, 1992