/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Our Team

Find a professional

By expertise :

By keywords :


Name

PublicationsPublications

RSSRSS Feed

Barry H. Shapiro

Telephone : (514) 393-4021

Fax : (514) 878-1865

Email : bhshapiro@rsslex.com

VCard

A partner and senior member of the firm’s Business Law group, Barry H. Shapiro is frequently asked to advise clients on various matters relating to their businesses or personal estate planning.

Barry’s main areas of practice are mergers and acquisitions, business and corporate law, real estate, and wills and estates.

Representative Matters

Mergers and Acquisitions

Advised the founders of La Canadienne, a leader in the manufacturing, distribution and retailing of women’s winter footwear, in its acquisition by an investor group led by Montreal-based private equity firm Champlain Financial Corporation, and including the founders as well as Investissement Québec and Fondaction, le Fonds de développement de la Confédération des syndicats nationaux pour la coopération et l’emploi.

Acted for the co-owners of Namur Syndicate on the sale of 5010 Paré St to the City of Montreal for $9.1M.

Acted for the owner of a long-established heating, ventilation and air conditioning enterprise dealing with retail, commercial and industrial clients on the sale of its business to a competitor, with a purchase price based partially on a reverse earn-out as a function of profitability over the ensuing five years.

Representation of an international manufacturer and distributor of medical, dental and related supplies on the purchase of a minority shareholder’s interest in a foreign affiliate in accordance with the laws of the Netherlands.

Representation of Cycle Babac Inc., a 50+-year bicycle parts distributor on a purchase from Genesis Cycle Inc. of Toronto of its bicycle business selling to retail outlets under the trademarks Genesis, Stealth, Dawn, Barracuda, Hutch, Trafik, UAV.9er and Roseport.

Representation of a 50% shareholder of a branded business involved in the distribution of industrial supplies featuring packaging equipment as well as consumer and industrial packaging products, scales and accessories on its purchase of the remaining 50% from a related party.

Acted for the owners of 8551 Ray-Lawson Blvd. on the sale of its industrial building, including dealing with environmental and transfer tax issues.

Advising the majority stakeholder on the purchase of one of the founding partners’ interests in a North American importer and distributor of knitted goods.

Representation of second-generation owners in a share sale of a 65-year-old wood care products business which sells to the furniture industry and to major hardware retailers under the brand name Trade Secret — Secret du métier.

Acted for individuals in the purchase and financing of an interest in a commercial and office strip-centre in Dorval, via the purchase of 50% of the outstanding shares of the corporation which owned the Centre. The selling shareholders had been feuding for several years.

Acted for Corey Eisenberg in the Purchase of the business of Grandma Emily, a manufacturer and distributor of health-oriented snacks, cereals and bars.

Represented one of the owners of a home furnishings distribution business where one partner bought out the other partners after a 28-year relationship.

Represented the shareholders of RCR International Inc., a leading manufacturer and distributor of weather stripping and insulation, with respect to the sale of the business to a US-based venture capital investor.

Represented Gerald E. Morris, owner of Intalite Inc. / Simplex Ceilings, a leading manufacturer of custom metal ceilings, on the sale of the company to Armstrong World Industries Ltd.

Represented the owners of an agency representing international chemical manufacturers on the sale of its business to a mid-cap corporation.

Represented the owners of a real estate portfolio on the sale of the portfolio to various purchasers.

Represented a majority shareholder of a retail frozen yogurt chain on acquiring the founder’s equity in the company.

Represented an employee/minority shareholder on a management buy-out of a 75% equity interest of an international construction cost consultant and project management services firm.

Business Law

Representation of the owners of 95, rue Gince, Saint-Laurent, for a $4M financing through the Business Development Bank of Canada.

Advised a client on his responsibilities as a property owner regarding the contamination, if any, affecting the property, and which, in any event, could not have been caused by him. Stakes of up to $20 million.

Elaboration of a profit-sharing and phantom-equity plan for a consultant.

Advising a senior executive of a North American designer, distributor and retailer of women’s, men’s and children’s outerwear in evolving from a holder of phantom stock units into real equity, and in a subsequent sale of a portion of the equity to a third-party acquirer of the business.

Advising an international manufacturer and distributor of medical and dental supplies in planning and carrying out a tax-efficient alignment of interests among shareholders of affiliates by exchanging their shares for shares in the parent company; also assisting in re-purchasing a significant interest of one of the original shareholders and a partial re-purchase of shares by other shareholders followed by an amalgamation of some of the selling entities and the parent company. Representation of this manufacturer in the financing for the alignment and repurchases with HSBC, The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd. and an affiliate of Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, including coordinating securitization of loans by the international affiliates.

Implementing a share exchange between unrelated shareholders of two independent distinct operating enterprises: one operating in the area of manufacturing of ferrous and non-ferrous precision investment casting serving high-tech industries such as aerospace, and the other involved in the development of a smart process software for a company’s supply chain resulting in optimization, automation, integration and vendor compliance.

Corporate reorganization (with corporate, tax, employment and intellectual property implications) of the Canadian and U.S. operations of an international, Montreal-based medical products supplier.

Cross-border investment in a liquefied natural gas project — Acted as general counsel, with Martin Lord as tax counsel, for a California-based Hedge Fund that made a significant investment in a Quebec Limited Partnership that intends to develop, finance, construct and operate a facility to ship liquefied natural gas. The gas will be purchased from the US and Canada, converted into liquefied gas and shipped to markets that include Europe and Asia.

Acts as general counsel to a major international manufacturer and distributor of health and dental products.

Acts as general counsel to a major international manufacturer and distributor of vinyl coated fabrics to the marine, auto and consumer markets.

Represented several accounting and architectural firms in preparing partnership agreements, conversion of general partnerships to limited partnerships or limited liability partnerships.

Completed the corporate reorganization (with corporate, tax, employment and intellectual property implications) of the Canadian and U.S. operations of a medical products supplier.

Completed a corporate reorganization of Fabtrends International Inc., one of North America’s leading fashion textile companies.

Completed a corporate reorganization of a Canadian-based manufacturer and distributor of clothing, footwear and accessories.

Wills and Estates

Successful resolution of a dispute involving two wills — a deathbed holograph document made by the testator in the hospital within two days of her passing versus a notarial will. RSS successfully contested the holograph will and obtained judgment reducing two particular legacies from $1M to $100,000 each.

Advising a widow and mother of one child from a second marriage in a dispute with a child of the deceased from a first marriage in connection with the deceased’s will resulting in a settlement of significant differences and avoiding costly litigation.

Implemented a complex business succession plan for Morbern Inc., a global manufacturer and distributor of decorative upholstery fabrics to the automotive, heavy truck and marine industries.

Represented various beneficiaries under wills who had competing interests with other beneficiaries and successfully securing and realizing their claims.

Family Dispute Resolution

Negotiated and resolved inter-generational disputes amongst family members of jointly owned corporations and other legal entities.

Honours

Rated “AV Preeminent” by Martindale-Hubbell, for ethical standards and legal ability

Rated since 2012 in Best Lawyers in Canada, under Corporate Governance Practice, Corporate Law, Mergers & Acquisitions Law, Private Funds Law and Trusts and Estates. Best Lawyers named him Montréal Lawyer of the Year for Corporate Governance Practice in 2017 and 2020.

Community Involvement

Governor For Life of the Fondation du Barreau du Québec

Sir Mortimer B. Davis – Jewish General Hospital Foundation (trustee)

Jewish Immigrant Aid Services of Montreal (past president)

Lord Reading Law Society (past president)

Federation CJA (past board member)

Donald Berman Maimonides Geriatric Centre Foundation (former vice-president and member of the board of directors)

Segal Centre for Performing Arts, previously known as the Saidye-Bronfman Centre (past director and former board member)

Languages

English, French

Education

Bachelor of Civil Law, McGill University

Bachelor of Arts, McGill University

Call to Bar

Quebec, 1965

/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/page.php
Notre Équipe

Chercher un professionnel

Par expertise :

Par mots clés :


Nom

PublicationsNos publications

RSSFIL RSS

Barry H. Shapiro

Téléphone : (514) 393-4021

Télécopieur : (514) 878-1865

Courriel : bhshapiro@rsslex.com

VCard

Associé et membre senior du groupe de droit des Affaires du cabinet, Barry H. Shapiro est fréquemment appelé à conseiller sa clientèle sur divers sujets relatifs à leurs entreprises et à leur planification successorale.

Les principaux champs de pratique de Barry sont les fusions et acquisitions, le droit des affaires et le droit des sociétés, le droit immobilier et les testaments et fiducies.

Dossiers représentatifs

Fusions et acquisitions

Prestation de conseils aux fondateurs de La Canadienne dans son acquisition par un groupe d’investisseurs mené par Corporation Financière Champlain, une société de portefeuille privée basée à Montréal, et incluant les fondateurs ainsi qu’Investissement Québec et Fondaction, le Fonds de développement de la Confédération des syndicats nationaux pour la coopération et l’emploi.

Représentation des copropriétaires du syndicat Namur pour la vente du 5010, rue Paré à la Ville de Montréal, pour un prix de 9,1 M$.

Représentation du propriétaire d’une entreprise de chauffage, ventilation et climatisation établie de longue date et comptant des clients des industries du détail, du commerce et de l’industrie lors de la vente de cette entreprise à un concurrent, moyennant un prix d’achat établi en partie selon une clause d’indexation inversée fondée sur la rentabilité des cinq années à venir.

Prestation de conseils à un manufacturier et distributeur d’envergure mondiale de matériel médical et dentaire et de fournitures connexes pour l’achat d’une participation minoritaire dans une filiale étrangère aux termes des lois néerlandaises.

Représentation de Cycle Babac inc., distributrice de pièces de vélos en affaires depuis plus de 50 ans pour l’achat de son entreprise de vente aux commerces de détail sous les marques Genesis, Stealth, Dawn, Barracuda, Hutch, Trafik, UAV.9er et Roseport.

Représentation du détenteur de la moitié des actions d’une entreprise de marque du secteur de la distribution de fournitures industrielles, notamment de l’équipement d’emballage et des produits d’emballage industriels et domestiques, et des balances et accessoires, pour l’achat de l’autre moitié des actions d’une personne liée.

Représentation des propriétaires du 8551, boul. Ray-Lawson pour la vente, y compris la gestion des questions environnementales et de droits de mutations immobilières, de leur immeuble industriel.

Prestation de conseils à l’associé majoritaire d’un importateur et distributeur nord-américain de tricot pour l’achat des intérêts d’un des associés fondateurs.

Représentation de la deuxième génération de propriétaires lors de la vente des actions d’une entreprise établie il y a 65 ans, œuvrant dans la fabrication de produits d’entretien du bois utilisés par l’industrie du meuble et vendus dans les quincailleries de grande surface sous la marque Secret du métier — Trade Secret.

Représentation de particuliers pour l’achat et le financement d’une participation dans un centre commercial et édifice à bureaux linéaire à Dorval, en procédant à l’achat de 50 % des actions de la société qui détenait l’immeuble, dans un contexte de relations tendues entre les coactionnaires vendeurs depuis quelques années.

Représentation de Corey Eisenberg pour l’achat du fonds de commerce de Les Granolas d’Émilie, fabricant distributeur d’aliments santé : collations, céréales et barres.

Représentation d’un des copropriétaires d’une entreprise de distribution d’accessoires ménagers d’ameublement : un des associés a fait l’achat de la participation de ses coassociés, mettant fin à une relation commerciale de quelque 28 ans.

Représentation des actionnaires de RCR International, un important fabricant et distributeur de coupe-froid et de produits connexes, dans la vente de l’entreprise à un investisseur de capital de risque américain.

Représentation de Gerald E. Morris, propriétaire d’Intalite Inc. / Simplex Ceilings, un des plus grands manufacturiers de plafonds métalliques sur mesure, pour la vente de sa société à Armstrong World Industries Ltd.

Représentation des propriétaires d’un manufacturier de produits chimiques dans la vente de leur société à une société de taille moyenne.

Représentation des titulaires d’un portefeuille immobilier dans la vente à divers tiers acquéreurs.

Représentation de l’actionnaire majoritaire d’une chaîne de comptoirs de yogourt glacé pour l’achat des actions détenues par le fondateur de l’entreprise.

Représentation d’un employé actionnaire minoritaire dans un rachat d’entreprise par ses cadres visant 75 % des actions d’une société internationale de conseils en matière de coûts de construction et de services de gestion de projets.

Droit des affaires

Représentation des propriétaires du 95, rue Gance, à Saint-Laurent, pour un financement de 4 M$ avec l’appui de la Banque de développement du Canada.

Prestation de conseils à un client quant à sa responsabilité comme propriétaire d’un immeuble possiblement contaminé, cette contamination n’ayant pas été causée par lui. Enjeux pouvant atteindre 20 M$.

Élaboration d’un régime de partage des profits et d’attribution d’options sur actions fictives pour un consultant.

Prestation de conseils à un cadre dirigeant d’une entreprise nord-américaine de conception, de fabrication et de distribution de vêtements d’extérieur pour femmes, hommes et enfants, en vue de la conversion de son régime d’actions fictives en actions réelles, puis lors de la vente d’une partie de ce capital-actions à un tiers acquéreur de l’entreprise.

Prestation de conseils à un manufacturier et distributeur d’envergure mondiale de fournitures médicales et dentaires en vue de planifier et de réaliser un plan fiscalement efficace d’agencement des intérêts des actionnaires de sociétés liées au moyen d’un échange de leurs actions contre des actions de la société mère; assistance lors du rachat d’une partie importante du capital-actions d’un des actionnaires fondateurs et du rachat partiel d’actions par les autres actionnaires suivi d’une fusion de certaines des venderesses et de la société mère. Représentation de ce manufacturier pour le financement de l’agencement et des rachats avec la HSBC, la Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd. et une société liée à la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, y compris la coordination de la titrisation des prêts consentis par les sociétés internationales liées.

Mise en place d’un échange d’actions entre les actionnaires non liés de deux sociétés d’exploitation indépendantes, l’une faisant affaire dans le moulage à la cire perdue de composantes ferreuses et non ferreuses de haute précision utilisées par les industries technologiques comme l’aérospatiale, et l’autre faisant le développement d’un logiciel intelligent de gestion de l’approvisionnement d’entreprise assurant l’optimisation, l’automatisation, l’intégration et la conformité.

Réorganisation des activités canadiennes et américaines d’une société montréalaise d’envergure mondiale distribuant du matériel médical, avec enjeux de droit des sociétés, de fiscalité, de travail et d’emploi et de propriété intellectuelle.

Investissement transfrontalier dans un projet de gaz naturel liquéfié — Conseiller juridique principal, avec l’appui de Martin Lord comme conseiller fiscal, pour un fonds spéculatif établi en Californie ayant réalisé un investissement majeur dans une société en commandite québécoise qui prévoit développer, financer, construire et exploiter des installations dans le but d’expédier du gaz naturel liquéfié. Le gaz sera acheté aux États-Unis et au Canada pour être converti en gaz naturel liquéfié puis expédié vers des marchés comprenant l’Europe et l’Asie.

Conseiller juridique d’un important fabricant et distributeur d’envergure internationale de produits de santé et dentaires.

Conseiller juridique d’un important fabricant et distributeur d’envergure internationale de tissues enduits de vinyle utilisés par les industries nautique et automobile et directement par les consommateurs.

Représentation de divers cabinets de comptables et d’architectes pour la préparation des contrats de société, et pour des conversions de sociétés en nom collectif en sociétés en commandite ou en sociétés en responsabilité limitée.

Réorganisation (avec enjeux de droit des sociétés, de fiscalité, de droit de l’emploi et de propriété intellectuelle) des activités canadiennes et américaines d’un fournisseur de matériel médical.

Réalisation d’une réorganisation de Fabtrends International Inc., un des plus importants producteurs de textiles vestimentaires en Amérique du Nord.

Réorganisation d’un manufacturier et distributeur canadien de vêtements, chaussures et accessoires.

Successions et fiducies

Règlement d’un différend relatif à deux testaments : l’un, olographe, fait à l’hôpital par la testatrice deux jours avant son décès, et l’autre notarié. RSS a contesté avec succès la validité du testament olographe, obtenant un jugement réduisant deux legs particuliers de 1 M$ à 100 000 $ chacun.

Prestation de conseils à une veuve, mère d’un enfant de deuxièmes noces, à l’occasion d’un différend relatif au testament l’opposant à un enfant du premier mariage du défunt; conclusion d’un règlement ayant permis d’éviter un litige onéreux.

Mise en place d’un plan de succession sophistiqué pour Morbern inc., fabricant et distributeur mondial de tissus de revêtement décoratifs pour les industries de l’automobile, des camions lourds et des bateaux.

Représentation de légataires en conflit avec leurs colégataires : réussite dans la protection et la réalisation de leurs intérêts.

Résolution de différends familiaux

Négociation et règlement d’un différend entre actionnaires de générations différentes de sociétés et autres personnes morales détenues par les membres d’une même famille.

Distinctions

Le répertoire Martindale-Hubbell lui attribue la cote « AV Preeminent », décernée pour souligner le sens de l’éthique et la compétence

Classé depuis 2012 dans Best Lawyers In Canada pour le droit des sociétés, la gouvernance d’entreprise, les fusions et acquisitions, le financement par capitaux privés et les fiducies et successions. Best Lawyers l’a désigné Avocat de l’année à Montréal pour la gouvernance d’entreprise en 2017 puis en 2020.

Engagement sociocommunautaire

Gouverneur à vie de la Fondation du Barreau du Québec

Fondation de l’Hôpital général juif Sir Mortimer B. Davis de Montréal (fiduciaire)

Services d’assistance aux immigrants juifs de Montréal (ancien président)

Association de droit Lord Reading (ancien président)

Fédération CJA (ancien administrateur)

Fondation du Centre gériatrique Maimonides Donald Berman (ancien vice-président et membre du conseil d’administration)

Centre Ségal des arts de la scène, connu autrefois sous le nom de Centre Saidye-Bronfman (ancien administrateur et directeur)

Langues

Français, anglais

Formation

Baccalauréat en droit civil, Université McGill

Baccalauréat en lettres, Université McGill

Admission au Barreau

Québec, 1965