/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/RSS/index.php

Upcoming changes in federal labour law

By Philippe-André Tessier, CRIA, from our Labour and Employment and Transportation Law Practice Groups.

June 7, 2017 — Employees and employers regulated under the federal labour relations regime should keep their eyes open: a bill presently under consideration could bring about significant changes regarding parental leaves and creating new protection measures for employees.

Let us examine certain provisions of Bill C-44, introduced by the federal government following the budget presented to Parliament on March 22, 2017, amending the Canada Labour Code [Code], among other laws.

For the employees: increased leave

The Bill would amend Part III of the Code to increase parental leave from 37 to 63 weeks, allowing employees to take such leave within a period of 78 weeks following the birth, instead of within 52 weeks as was the case previously. The changes allow as well for maternity leave to begin 13 weeks prior to the birth or due date, instead of 11 weeks as is the case presently. The Bill also provides for a new leave for an employee who is obliged to provide care to a gravely ill adult.

Enhanced jurisdiction of the Canada Industrial Relations Board

The Canada Industrial Relations Board [CIRB] was already competent regarding the provisions of Part I, on labour relations. It would now inherit the responsibilities previously given over to “appeals officers” provided for in Part II, in matters of health and safety. The CIRB would now also have jurisdiction regarding Part III, on labour standards: it would hear complaints for alleged unjust dismissal filed pursuant to section 240, replacing outside arbitrators named by the Minister.

New monetary sanctions

A new and fundamental change introduced by this Bill is the creation of a regime of administrative fines for infractions of Parts II and III. It would now be the CIRB that would hear appeals from penalties imposed by the Ministerial order. Alleged violations of Parts II and III would no longer be treated by the common law courts: this would differ from the Quebec regime, for sections 236 and 237 of the Act Respecting Occupational Health and Safety among others. This may be the harbinger of a more efficient system of redress than recourse to penal complaints, that have not been frequently used in the past.

No to reprisals

Another substantive modification to the Code is a new section dealing with claims for “reprisal” — the equivalent of what Quebec practitioners know as complaints for illegal practices pursuant to sections 122 and the following of the Labour Standards Act. One of the key differences between that Act and the Code was the absence, in the federal regime, of a thorough framework on prohibited practices and reprisals related to sick leaves or other causes of absence.

Both regimes will differ, however, on one important point: the Bill, as tabled, prohibits the joinder of a claim of reprisal with a complaint for unjust dismissal pursuant to section 240 of the Code whereas this joinder is allowed under the equivalent provisions of the Quebec Labour Standards Act.

Greater powers to inspectors

Another substantive change to the Code deals with sections 251 and following, on the recovery of sums allegedly due by an employer to an employee pursuant to Part III. The powers of inspectors are enlarged substantially because they now can decide whether or not a discharge has in fact taken place so as to bring into play sections 230 and 235, that deal with notice of termination and severance. These same inspectors can order the end to practices that they deem violations of Part III, all this in addition to issuance of Ministerial (administrative) orders for investigation to assure compliance with the law.

It is clear that the federal government’s intent is to reduce the number of violations of Part III, and to more effectively prosecute and penalize those who fail to respect the law, bearing in mind that these are minimum labour standards for employees falling under federal jurisdiction.

Conclusion

Bill C-44 is a complex and substantial piece of legislation, filling over 300 pages and dealing with numerous aspects of the federal government’s operations. As these lines are written, we cannot say when its various provisions will come into force.

While the bill does not revolutionize federal labour and employment law, it could still bring about significant changes. Employers, beware!

Click here for a PDF version of this text.

Posted in Publications |

/home/rsslex/public_html/wp-content/themes/_RSS2/index.php

Changements en vue en droit du travail fédéral

Par Philippe-André Tessier, CRIA, de nos groupes de droit du travail et de l’emploi et de droit des transports.

7 juin 2017 — Les employés et employeurs assujettis au régime fédéral de droit du travail auront intérêt à garder l’œil ouvert : un projet de loi présentement à l’étude pourrait se traduire par des changements importants touchant les régimes de congé et instaurant de nouvelles mesures de protection pour les employés.

Voyons quelques dispositions du projet de loi C-44 que présentait le gouvernement fédéral à la suite du budget déposé au Parlement le 22 mars 2017, pour modifier notamment le Code canadien du travail [Code].

Pour les employés : davantage de congés

La partie III du Code serait amendée pour augmenter la durée du congé parental de 37 à 63 semaines, tout en donnant droit à la prise de ce congé pendant une période de 78 semaines suivant l’accouchement, au lieu de 52 semaines. Le projet de loi prévoit également que le congé de maternité peut débuter 13 semaines avant la date prévue de l’accouchement au lieu de 11 semaines, comme c’est le cas actuellement. De plus, il propose un nouveau congé pour un membre du personnel qui doit prendre soin d’un adulte gravement malade.

Plus de pouvoirs au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles [CCRI] était déjà compétent pour l’ensemble des recours prévus à la partie I, traitant des relations de travail. On lui confierait maintenant les responsabilités antérieurement dévolues aux agents d’appel de la partie II en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Le CCRI serait également compétent à l’égard de la partie III, traitant des normes du travail : il entendrait donc les plaintes de congédiement injuste déposées en vertu de l’article 240, en remplacement des arbitres désignés par le ministre.

Nouvelles sanctions pécuniaires

Le projet de loi instaure un régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires pour les parties II et III. Le CCRI serait mandaté pour entendre les appels de ces sanctions imposées par le ministre. Ainsi, les violations aux parties II et III ne seraient plus traitées par les tribunaux de droit commun, contrairement à ce qui a cours au Québec, notamment pour les infractions liées aux articles 236 et 237 de la Loi sur la santé et sécurité du travail. On assiste ici à la mise en place d’un régime de sanction qui se veut plus efficace que le recours aux plaintes pénales, peu souvent utilisées en pratique.

Non aux représailles

Une autre véritable modification substantielle au Code sera la création d’un mécanisme de plainte pour représailles, soit l’équivalent de ce que les praticiens du Québec connaissent comme le recours à l’encontre d’une pratique interdite en vertu des articles 122 et suivants de la Loi sur les normes du travail [LNT]. En effet, une des principales différences entre le Code et la LNT était l’absence sur le plan fédéral d’un régime complet visant les pratiques interdites/représailles reliées à la prise de congé de maladie ou à d’autres absences.

Il est à noter qu’il existe une différence remarquable avec le régime de la LNT, en ce sens que le projet de loi, tel que proposé, empêche le cumul de plaintes pour représailles et pour congédiement injuste en vertu de l’article 240, ce cumul étant permis en vertu de la LNT.

Pouvoirs accrus des inspecteurs

Une autre modification majeure apportée au Code a trait au mécanisme prévu par les articles 251 et suivants relatifs aux sommes qui pourraient être dues par un employeur à un membre du personnel en vertu de la partie III. On élargit les pouvoirs des inspecteurs, qui pourront dorénavant décider si un congédiement a eu lieu pour permettre l’application des articles 230 et 235, liés au préavis de licenciement et à l’indemnité de départ. Ces mêmes inspecteurs pourront ordonner de mettre fin à une contravention à une disposition de la partie III, tout comme il sera permis au ministre d’ordonner une vérification interne à un employeur pour assurer la conformité.

Il est évident avec ces modifications que l’intention du législateur est de limiter le nombre de contraventions à la partie III et de sanctionner plus efficacement ceux qui ne la respectent pas, car, on le rappelle, il s’agit des normes minimales du travail pour les employés de juridiction fédérale.

Conclusion

Le projet de loi C-44 est un texte complexe et substantiel, couvrant plus de 300 pages, qui touche plusieurs volets de l’activité du gouvernement fédéral. Au moment de la rédaction de ces lignes, on ne sait quand ses diverses dispositions entreront en vigueur.

Sans créer un bouleversement du droit du travail fédéral, il pourra entraîner une multitude de changements. Employeurs, préparez-vous à vous y adapter!

Cliquez ici pour une version PDF de ce texte.

Publié dans Publications |